Media & Press Releases

Wilderness Safaris CMO Included as a Judge in the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards

Feb 16, 2017 | Wilderness Safaris

Wilderness Safaris is proud to announce that Chief Marketing Officer, Chris Roche has been included in the prestigious line-up of judges for the WTTC (World Travel & Tourism Council) Tourism for Tomorrow Awards, which will be announced at the Global Summit in Bangkok, Thailand in April.

“We are proud to have Chris represent Wilderness in this prestigious forum, especially with the Summit’s theme focusing on ‘Transforming our World’ and the power travel and tourism has to impact economies, places and lives positively”, said Wilderness Safaris CEO, Keith Vincent. “This theme is a natural fit for our business model, and ties in closely with our 4Cs ethic – a commitment to Conservation, Community, Culture and Commerce in order to make a meaningful impact on the lives of Africa’s people and wildlife”.

Chris Roche joins an esteemed panel of WTTC Tourism for Tomorrow Award judges, made up of experts in sustainable tourism from around the world. “Chris is respected for his firm belief that it is a moral and ethical obligation of tourism businesses to ensure that their impact on the areas and the people where they work is positive and far-reaching, and we are certain that his extensive environmental expertise will make him a valuable asset to the judging panel”, added Vincent.

Attended by tourism company CEOs, tourism ministers and government representatives and over 100 business and economic journalists from the world’s leading media, the 17th WTTC Global Summit will drive the sustainable development agenda for travel and tourism.

Renowned as the most acclaimed sustainable tourism awards in the world, the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards will be announced at the Summit to further highlight those industry leaders pioneering best practice in sustainable and responsible tourism. Wilderness Safaris has won a Tourism for Tomorrow Award three times (1999; 2005; 2016) and has been a finalist a further three times (2007; 2010; 2012) in the last 18 years – an unprecedented level of recognition from the ecotourism industry.